Skip to content ↓
Paddock Wood Primary School

Paddock Wood Primary School

A school of excellence and enjoyment at the heart of its community


    A big welcome from the Governors of Paddock Wood Primary School.

    The Governing Body is made up of a number of members varying from teachers, support staff, parents and members of the local community. We work as a team with the Head Teacher for the benefit of all the pupils and staff at Paddock Wood Primary School.

    We’re all volunteers and have diverse backgrounds, from education, to NHS, Data analysis, HR and finance. We’re here to give the school a strategic direction; hold the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school, its pupils and the performance of its staff; and oversee the financial performance of the school. We don’t get involved in the day-to-day operation of the school, but set the criteria by which the school is managed.

    We ensure that local and national government legislation and targets are met, that we spend our school budget wisely, that the safety of our whole school community is paramount, and that the curriculum is delivered to benefit all children.

    Governors take an active role in the school, not only attending meetings, but also school functions, performances and undertaking visits to classrooms. Please feel free to approach us and ask any questions or raise any concerns you may have.

    The Chair of Governors can be reached by email: or via the School Office. Click the link for further information about the Governor Role.

    Current School Governors

    Mr Robert Grist (Leadership Monitoring Pair and Child Safety Monitoring Pair)
    Mr Tom Malone (Achievement of Pupils Monitoring Pair)
    Mrs Jane Brown

    Mrs Angie Gorst

    Mr Scott Opstad - Head Teacher

    Mr James Cable (Budget Monitoring Pair)

    Mr Neil Coverly (Pupil Achievement Monitoring Pair)
    Mr Paul Graves (Premises Monitoring Pair and Quality of Teaching Monitoring Pair)
    Mrs Sarah Hamilton (Communication Monitoring Pair and Teaching and Learning Monitoring Pair)
    Mrs Ruth Dunn (Behaviour, Safety and Inclusion Monitoring Pair, Governor for SEND)
    Mrs Sue Stone (Communication Monitoring Pair)
    Mrs Hilary Sutton (Behaviour, Safety and Inclusion Monitoring Pair)
    Mrs Rosalynne (Ros) Tucker (Chair of Governors, Budget Monitoring Pair, Strategy Team)
    Mr Trevor Hudson
    Mr Howard Dunn

    Mr Desmond Hillary

    Strategy Team 2016/17

    Governors Senior Leadership Team
    TBA Carly Gavin
    Rosalynne (Ros) Tucker - Chair  Angie Gorst
                      Scott Opstad

    Recent Governors

    Pauline Murr - resigned August 2017
    Daryl Lloyd - resigned January 2017

    Debbie Medcalf - resigned June 2015
    Jane Love - resigned June 2015
    Graeme Humphrey - resigned
    Malcolm Clark - resigned
    Mary Brown - resigned
    Gemma Johnson-Brown - resigned


    A record of attendance at Governors' meetings can be found here.